Home » News » Romney Suspends Campaign at CPAC

Romney Suspends Campaign at CPAC

Romney announced he’s quitting the race at CPAC. We thought as much a few days ago when he said he was in it until the convention; we thought there’d be one more final flip-flop in a campaign of mega flip-flops.

“If I fight on in my campaign, all the way to the convention, I would forestall the launch of a national campaign and make it more likely that Senator Clinton or Obama would win. And in this time of war, I simply cannot let my campaign, be a part of aiding a surrender to terror,” Romney will say at the Conservative Political Action Conference in Washington.

“This is not an easy decision for me. I hate to lose. My family, my friends and our supporters… many of you right here in this room… have given a great deal to get me where I have a shot at becoming President. If this were only about me, I would go on. But I entered this race because I love America, and because I love America, I feel I must now stand aside, for our party and for our country,” Romney said.

We’ll wait for the official text of the speech, but if this is what he’s saying, it’s a class act. We never liked Romney as a candidate, but if he learns not to flip-flop and continues speaking like this, perhaps Romney II might have a chance.

Leave a Reply

